Look Who’s Back.

by Timur Vernes.

First of all, the cover art is incredible. So much kudos.

Secondly, what a premise for a story! Adolf Hitler (the one and only real one) wakes up suddenly, randomly, in 2011 in Berlin. Because he is the Fuhrer, he learns quickly to adapt to his situation, and because it is the age of media, of course he is lauded as a comedian with impeccable research skills, and who quickly becomes a YouTube sensation.

I have never, ever wanted to learn German before in my life. While reading the book, not only did I wish I read German (although the English translation is, I’m sure, brilliant) but I also really wished I knew more about German culture and references. I’m pretty sure the story would have been that much more hilarious.

Such imagination and wit and satirical talent. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

