Star Trek: Into Darkness.

I remember, when I watched it at the cinema, that I thought it wasn’t quite as good as the first one (sequels never are as good… actually that’s not true. Empire Strikes Back is better. Aliens is probably better (sorry Ridley Scott). The Dark Knight is probably better – although I loved loved loved Batman Begins. Captain America: Winter Solider is infinitely better… Yeah anyway. I digress.) But re-watching it (thanks Netflix!) I actually really, really enjoyed it. It’s not clunky and overly complex – although perhaps I only think this way because it’s my second viewing, so I already have the basic gist in my brain…

So Into Darkness is just as exciting as the original (by original I mean the 2009 JJ Abrams version haha), and the script and dialogue just as punchy as well. The best thing is that the full cast came back from the first one (Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana, John Cho, Anton Yelchin, Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, Bruce Greenwood… even Leonard Nimoy came back for a cameo!) and Alice Eve and Benedict Cumberbatch are pretty awesome additions as well.

Anyhow. I’m hoping the new one (Star Trek Beyond) comes to Netflix soon… I am really looking forward to rewatching that one too :D

And in case you were wondering… yes I like Star Trek more than Star Wars, always have. Just sayin’. And here is one of my favourite DVD extras things from the set of Into Darkness:

Leave a Reply

