Coldplay.

1st April, 2017. Singapore National Stadium.

Phwoar. So I only know about four Coldplay songs – Yellow, The Scientist, Fix You & the Jerusalem song. Everyone knows Yellow. The Scientist… I know I know it, I know it when I hear it, but if you ask me to sing it right now, no clue. Fix You I know because of an episode of The Newsroom – it featured prominently in the last scene, which was cut to perfection to the song. It was epic. And the Jerusalem song is not about Jerusalem (I don’t think) but… I think there are Jerusalem bells in the lyrics somewhere. Yeah.

But anyway. I suppose it’s because I work in production, and I find concert production very interesting. I also love watching how musicians/stars interact with the crowd… So regardless of how well I know a band or a singer, I still like to go and watch. I came out of this concert realising that I know slightly more than four songs, but also that I have no idea what the other songs are hahaha.

Production-wise, the concert was great. The LED wristbands, the pyrotechnics, the confetti and balloons and rainbow coloured powder, everything lent itself to make the fans enjoy themselves even more. The stage was interesting – the “runway” features prominently in many concerts these days, and it’s great because more people get to be closer up – and they also had a smaller stage a bit closer to the back, so they people there didn’t feel completely left out, which is awesome. Sound was… let’s just say Chris Martin’s voice was sometimes quite soft – like I could barely hear it – but I do think that has to do with the structure of the stadium and where I was sitting. But then, Chris Martin’s energy absolutely made up for anything that was lacking. It’s strange how people can say very similar things, but you believe one person and don’t quite believe the other. With Chris Martin, I believed it when he said they didn’t take these shows for granted, that they were so appreciative that we all took the time to go and watch them, that they were grateful we flew in from other countries to see them. I believed it. And it made the concert special because I believed it.

Anyway. It was pretty awesome. Best moment for me – when they covered one of my fave songs: Heroes by David Bowie. I didn’t record it. I was too busy enjoying it, but here’s the Rose Bowl (LA) version from last year.

Leave a Reply

