Housewarming-ness

Went to a BBQ housewarming in Cheung Sha Wan today. There’s a very small part of me that thinks that maybe, if I had to leave my current place, I could deal with living in CSW. Maybe. Sometimes I think about things like that. Days when I don’t want to deal with 6 minutes of hot water during the winter. Days when I don’t want to carry my suitcase(s) up the stairs. Days when the stairs are filled with food wrappings and cigarette butts etc.

It’s been a while since I’ve been in a situation where I get to meet new people outside of work. It was nice. Even though I basically just stuck with the first person I met, as opposed to actually properly meeting everyone. He’s a professor of English, and he teaches critical discourse analysis. To which my initial reaction was… wait… undergrad or postgrad? And when he answered both, I was like… how?! And that is a bias, an awful gut reaction, because I don’t think students in HK can handle a course like that. Sigh.

Anyway. Back to the BBQ… it was nice. To meet people. To have conversations. I quite enjoyed it, actually. Must try to get out more… Try. Haha.

Leave a Reply

