The Oscars.

Every year there is one day when I bemoan the fact that I don’t have TV. These days, one doesn’t really need TV anymore, what with our local TV channel streaming online, and things like Netflix. However, on this one day, the fact that I don’t have a TV means I don’t get to watch the Oscars. It plays on our local TV channel, but “due to copyright restrictions”, it isn’t streamed. I’m not surprised. Oh well.

I spent the morning (yes, the Oscars are live here in Hong Kong in the morning) watching Netflix and following the results (and reactions) on Twitter. Twitter is really incredible. It makes me laugh so much.

Anyway. I love that Suicide Squad is now “Academy Award-winning film, Suicide Squad.” I love that Hacksaw Ridge won two. I’m so glad that The White Helmets won Best Documentary Short – the actual people who comprise the white helmets should really be given all sorts of accolades, but anything to raise awareness is great… I thought Jimmy Kimmel’s opening monologue was incredibly on point, and the Meryl Streep section made me laugh out loud. And I’m glad that Moonlight opened and closed the show with its awards… despite the controversy. I also think we should give PWC a break. I mean come on. It’s been 89 years of Academy Awards. It’s just one mistake (although a pretty massive one haha). I loved Twitter’s reaction – mostly related to Steve Harvey hahaha…

Alright then. Here’s looking forward to another year of awesome films :)

Leave a Reply

